Imbueing and Other Help and Hints in Diablo II

If you need a hint or help with a game you are playing, this is the place to find it.
User avatar
draclvr
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Posts: 14641
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:30 am

Imbueing and Other Help and Hints in Diablo II

Post by draclvr » Thu May 20, 2010 8:23 pm

Time to start a new Diablo II topic, Jude. This forum has been excluded from routine pruning now!

As much as I've played this game, I've never figured out how to best use imbue. Charsi will do this for me for an item, but how do I choose which item?

I'm done with the Rogue Encampment, but want to level my Druid up to 18 before I talk to Warriv.
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. When life gives you tomatoes, make Bloody Marys.

User avatar
Jen
Puffy Moderator
Posts: 863
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 11:17 pm

Re: Imbueing in Diablo II

Post by Jen » Fri May 21, 2010 10:30 am

I did some reading when I got the imbue. I am playing as a sorceress, and you can't have any magic items imbued, so I kept waiting for some awesome armor or some such. I hadn't seen any yet outside of my partial set, which is magical. So I still have not used it. But I seem to recall that the imbue is best saved until your character is high level, like 40+, or you just waste it, and there is another imbue sometime later in the game. I think it might be more for melee characters. Jude probably knows way more than me and will tell me I am blowing smoke.

User avatar
Jude
Poltergeist
Poltergeist
Posts: 1774
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:03 pm

Re: Imbueing in Diablo II

Post by Jude » Sun May 23, 2010 3:55 am

You get one imbue after completing the quest and returning to Charsi, for EACH level of game difficulty (Normal, Nightmare, and Hell).

Sometimes it takes some time to find a decent NON-MAGICAL, NON-SOCKETED, NON-JEWELRY item to imbue, especially since after Act II, all items in the stores won't qualify, I believe.

You do not have to use the imbue quest reward right away, but when you find a non-magical item that you want to imbue, go to Act I (I would suggest quitting the game and backing up your Save folder at this point, just in case you don't like the imbued item you get -- yes, this is cheating and whould only be considered when playing single-player. Never cheat when playing on battle.net or you will be banned!).

Click on Charsi in town, and you will will see the option to imbue an item. Click on that option, pick up the item from your inventory and put it in the "imbue" section that popped up, and then click the button. You will then get a random bunch of bonuses permanently applied to the item (often the stats are reset, though, so don't worry too much about finding an item with the highest defense or damage or whatever.

I usually imbue equipment that don't ever allow sockets, like gloves, belts or boots, since there is no way to add bonuses to them otherwise, but I have occasionally imbued a weapon or armor with good results. If you are lucky enough to find a non-magical but top-of-the-line type of what you want to imbue, and it is of a type that will allow sockets (but the particular item has none), you can use the "add sockets" quest reward from Act V to add sockets to the item you imbued.

I hope this makes sense.

Jude
Jude's Wondrous Universe
http://www.wondrousuniverse.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
draclvr
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Posts: 14641
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:30 am

Re: Imbueing in Diablo II

Post by draclvr » Sun May 23, 2010 9:15 am

Thanks, Jen and Jude. I really don't have anything that strikes me as good enough yet, so maybe I'll just hang on to the option for now. I'm just heading out into the desert now.
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. When life gives you tomatoes, make Bloody Marys.

User avatar
draclvr
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Posts: 14641
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:30 am

Re: Imbueing in Diablo II

Post by draclvr » Sun May 30, 2010 9:41 am

Finally got my Druid up to level 22. I've been using a level 3 Dire Wolf and the Elemental burning pit of fire, but I really need to see how the Transformation powers work. I think I've got a level 2 Werewolf I might try out later today.
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. When life gives you tomatoes, make Bloody Marys.

User avatar
draclvr
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Posts: 14641
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:30 am

Re: How to Get Your Classic Blizzard Games Playing on New Systems

Post by draclvr » Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:00 pm

So, Jude, I have a question. It's been so many years since I've played this one! According to this thread, it's been 9 years! My level 28 Assassin has just killed Mephisto using my level 19 Blade Sentinel. I'm wondering if I should take the leap into Hell or if I should level up more in Kurast?
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. When life gives you tomatoes, make Bloody Marys.

User avatar
Jude
Poltergeist
Poltergeist
Posts: 1774
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:03 pm

Re: How to Get Your Classic Blizzard Games Playing on New Systems

Post by Jude » Thu Aug 29, 2019 6:37 pm

Wow, you move fast! Did you already complete the Nightmare difficulty level? Your Assassin seems at too a low level to have done that already...

Are you using /players 8 to play now (to make things harder and get experience faster -- it simulates what 8 players would face (hit the enter/return key, and then type "/players8" into the message window that opens, and hit the enter/return key again to get a confirmation message)?

If so, you can stop using it (it automatically resets to normal each time you start the game again) or reduce it to, for example, /players 2, if you find that the next area is too difficult. Or, you can just restart the game to repopulate and then replay any area(s), you want to -- either to gain more experience to level up/upgrade your skills, or look for more cool stuff (like defeating the Countess/Tower quest in area 1 to definitely get a rune, for example.

I really can't give you advice on when your character will be ready to move to the next difficulty level! BUT, I can remind you to:

Enter the Secret Cow Level (and it is hard, so maybe don't set it to /players 8 unless you are sure your character is tough!). But be aware that you can only enter the Secret Cow Level ONCE per difficulty level (Normal, Nightmare, and Hell), if you kill the Cow King. There are instructions and some good tips, here
http://classic.battle.net/diablo2exp/quests/cow.shtml

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SECRET COW LEVEL:
Go to the Rogue Encampment in Act I. Place one Tome of Town Portal + Wirt's Leg into the Horadric Cube and hit the Transmute button. A Red Portal will now open to the Secret Cow Level. You must transmute this combination in the Rogue Encampment for the portal to open. If you hear a message, "I can't do that" then you are doing something wrong. Make sure you have completed the last quest in Act V, that you have placed the correct items in the Horadric Cube, and that you are transmuting the items in the correct location.

Wirt's Leg can be secured in Tristram. Wirt's body is located in the top left quadrant of the town. Click on Wirt's body and, amid a shower of gold, his Leg will drop on the ground. Don't worry if you have been there before and forgot to get the Leg -- you can always go back and get another one by returning to the Stony Field and entering the Red Portal into Tristram.

Once you have Wirt's Leg, return to the Rogue Encampment and put it and a Tome of Town Portal into your Horadric Cube. The Tome does not need to be filled to work, so if you do not want to use the Tome you have filled with 20 Town Portals, you can simply buy an almost empty one from Akara.
Jude's Wondrous Universe
http://www.wondrousuniverse.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
draclvr
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Posts: 14641
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:30 am

Re: How to Get Your Classic Blizzard Games Playing on New Systems

Post by draclvr » Thu Aug 29, 2019 9:17 pm

Oh, no! No nightmare difficulty at all and Secret Cow is way beyond my abilities right now! I've actually been using Wirt's Leg as a weapon and with really good enchanted armor and a good shield, it's not all bad! I also have a war scepter of maiming in the second slot. I'm playing in normal mode right now.

I've never heard of that "players 8" and it sounds like something I want to try. Thank you!
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. When life gives you tomatoes, make Bloody Marys.

User avatar
Jude
Poltergeist
Poltergeist
Posts: 1774
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:03 pm

Re: How to Get Your Classic Blizzard Games Playing on New Systems

Post by Jude » Thu Aug 29, 2019 9:54 pm

I use /players 8 nearly always (I activate it as soon as I start/restart the game). It's really important to remember to type the slash (the earlier versions of the game didn't need the slash to activate the players 8 code) because it lets you gain experience much faster (and also makes the enemies tougher to beat).

I obviously misunderstood what you were asking me about. :D Sorry. If you need any help getting players 8 to work (or if you have any questions about it) let me know.

Do you "gamble" for good stuff, too. That's where I find a lot of my good equipment, but I also like buying stuff with the maximum sockets allowed for the item and that already has some sort of benefit added to it. Then I socket upgraded gems and runes.

For Blade sentinel, I try to use something (despite the name, it doesn't have to be a blade - using a blunt weapon gives better damage against the undead) that does a lot of normal damage (because the skill only uses 3/8th of it) and fill the sockets with things that add a lot of elemental and poison damage. Also, charms in your inventory can add elemental damage to all of your attacks (and some things can be socketed in armor and helms to add extra damage to any weapon (or even unarmed attacks). The Blade sentinel is pretty cool but it uses a lot of Mana!

Have fun!
Jude's Wondrous Universe
http://www.wondrousuniverse.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
draclvr
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Posts: 14641
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:30 am

Re: How to Get Your Classic Blizzard Games Playing on New Systems

Post by draclvr » Thu Aug 29, 2019 10:02 pm

You know all these little trick and extras that I don't! OK. I'm off to give this a try.

EDIT: So, I'm at the Kurast docks. I pressed "enter" and nothing happen to give me a dialogue box???
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. When life gives you tomatoes, make Bloody Marys.

User avatar
Jude
Poltergeist
Poltergeist
Posts: 1774
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:03 pm

Re: How to Get Your Classic Blizzard Games Playing on New Systems

Post by Jude » Thu Aug 29, 2019 10:04 pm

draclvr wrote:You know all these little trick and extras that I don't! OK. I'm off to give this a try.

Whoops! You posted when I was editing my post above yours! Go back and re-read it. I added some more tips. :D
Jude's Wondrous Universe
http://www.wondrousuniverse.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Jude
Poltergeist
Poltergeist
Posts: 1774
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:03 pm

Re: How to Get Your Classic Blizzard Games Playing on New Systems

Post by Jude » Thu Aug 29, 2019 10:05 pm

The reason I learned so many tips and tricks is that I hung out for a long time at the single-player forums at diabloii.net (when they existed) and everyone shared what they learned about the game.
Jude's Wondrous Universe
http://www.wondrousuniverse.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Jude
Poltergeist
Poltergeist
Posts: 1774
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:03 pm

Re: How to Get Your Classic Blizzard Games Playing on New Systems

Post by Jude » Thu Aug 29, 2019 10:07 pm

NOTE: These past several posts are about Diablo II
Jude's Wondrous Universe
http://www.wondrousuniverse.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Jude
Poltergeist
Poltergeist
Posts: 1774
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:03 pm

Re: How to Get Your Classic Blizzard Games Playing on New Systems

Post by Jude » Thu Aug 29, 2019 10:11 pm

draclvr wrote:You know all these little trick and extras that I don't! OK. I'm off to give this a try.

EDIT: So, I'm at the Kurast docks. I pressed "enter" and nothing happen to give me a dialogue box???

Hmm, maybe it is different in windows. What do you normally do to send a message/chat?
Jude's Wondrous Universe
http://www.wondrousuniverse.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
draclvr
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Posts: 14641
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:30 am

Re: How to Get Your Classic Blizzard Games Playing on New Systems

Post by draclvr » Thu Aug 29, 2019 10:16 pm

OK and never mind about the dialogue box... I didn't realize it was black and the screen I was in had water at the bottom, so I couldn't see it. So I typed it in and I'm off to give it a try.

This is what I don't understand about Blade Sentinel... it hardly uses any Mana at all! It only uses 7 Mana at level 19 and I have 129 Mana.
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. When life gives you tomatoes, make Bloody Marys.

Post Reply