Getting Gabrielle Knight 3 to Work on Windows 10

From how-to's on loading up a saved game to getting your old game to run on XP or reconfiguring your Internet Explorer, we'll do our best to help hook up those who have questions with a guru who can help.
User avatar
Stella
Poltergeist
Poltergeist
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:08 pm
Zodiac: Cancer

Getting Gabrielle Knight 3 to Work on Windows 10

Postby Stella » Sun Feb 07, 2016 10:21 am

I bought all 3 Gabe games from GOG, even though I already have the cd version for Gabe 3. Games 1 & 2 worked beautifully, but I can't get game 3 to work. I get the dreaded "put in the cd" message that others are getting. Checking back with GOG, I see that 1 & 2 will work with windows 10, but looks like 3 won't? How did they get the 2 older games to run, but not game 3? Ya think they may eventually get it working on windows 10?
User avatar
RaytheBear
Wandering Spectre
Wandering Spectre
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:44 pm

Re: Gabrielle Kniught 3

Postby RaytheBear » Sun Feb 07, 2016 2:55 pm

Hi Stella,
When you checked with GOG did you Login? The reason I ask is when you Loging
you can then bring up the game you bought and see the support files they have for
that game, anyway when you drill down the support page you should see something
like this:

Games Support
gabriel_knight_3_blood_of_the_sacred_blood_of_the_damned
Gabriel Knight 3 - The game requests a CD
Problem / question
Gabriel Knight 3 - The game requests a CD
Solution
Gabriel Knight 3 can request a CD in some rare instances.

To bypass this CD check, please download the GK3.zip file from here:

http://files.gog.com/support/GK3.zip

Once downloaded open the GK3.zip archive, you should see a GK3.exe file inside.
Copy the GK3.exe file to the game's directory (the default game directory is C:GOG GamesGabriel Knight 3).
A GK3.exe file should already be present.

When asked if you'd like to replace the file, say yes, and trying playing the game one more time.

I hope this helps
User avatar
Rosaboobie
Dastardly Demon
Dastardly Demon
Posts: 9428
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:55 am
Zodiac: Cancer

Re: Gabrielle Kniught 3

Postby Rosaboobie » Sun Feb 07, 2016 3:01 pm

Hello stranger :cool:
Boobie
If people had hearts like dogs, the world would be a better place!
User avatar
Stella
Poltergeist
Poltergeist
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:08 pm
Zodiac: Cancer

Re: Gabrielle Kniught 3

Postby Stella » Sun Feb 07, 2016 3:25 pm

Thanks Ray, but I tried that. I get another message that tells me to run the installer.
User avatar
RaytheBear
Wandering Spectre
Wandering Spectre
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:44 pm

Re: Gabrielle Kniught 3

Postby RaytheBear » Sun Feb 07, 2016 3:53 pm

Hmm, sorry to see that it didn't work and/or you get another problem after
installing the fix. Have you tried contacting GOG, they are usually pretty good
in answering and may have a solution for you, granted that GOG is not as quick
as Big Fish to answer quickly, but then again, BF is pretty hard to beat when it comes
to customer support and if GOG can't find a solution for you they usually give people
a refund or game credit.

I take it you tried uninstalling the game and then installing it as:
1) Administrator and
2) using Compatibility mode = Windows XP or 7
Good luck with this game

PS: Hi Rosaboobie, how are you? Did you call me a Stranger? or were you calling Stella a stranger :lol: and I hope you solve your problem re: Rogue software, seems to be one heck of a mess.
Take care
Ray
User avatar
Stella
Poltergeist
Poltergeist
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:08 pm
Zodiac: Cancer

Re: Gabrielle Kniught 3

Postby Stella » Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:13 pm

Thank you Ray! I'll try another install, then contact GOG.
User avatar
Rosaboobie
Dastardly Demon
Dastardly Demon
Posts: 9428
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:55 am
Zodiac: Cancer

Re: Gabrielle Kniught 3

Postby Rosaboobie » Mon Feb 08, 2016 1:53 am

Ha ha, Stella is not the stranger - It was you I was referring to - we have missed you :wink:
Boobie
If people had hearts like dogs, the world would be a better place!
User avatar
draclvr
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Posts: 14061
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:30 am
Zodiac: Virgo

Re: Gabrielle Kniught 3

Postby draclvr » Mon Feb 08, 2016 8:47 am

It is nice to see Ray the Bear here - sometimes I desperately need backup down here in the Technical Help section!
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. When life gives you tomatoes, make Bloody Marys.
User avatar
middletoe
Settled Spook
Settled Spook
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 2:23 pm

Re: Gabrielle Kniught 3

Postby middletoe » Mon Feb 08, 2016 1:47 pm

Stella wrote:How did they get the 2 older games to run, but not game 3?

GK1 and GK2 are DOS-based games, and GOG is using DOSBox to run them.
So GK1 and 2 are not running on Windows 10. They're running in DOSBox, and DOSBox is running on Windows 10.
GK3 is a Windows game, so it can't run in DOSBox, and is susceptible to whatever problems Windows 10 imposes on it.
User avatar
Stella
Poltergeist
Poltergeist
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:08 pm
Zodiac: Cancer

Re: Gabrielle Kniught 3

Postby Stella » Tue Feb 09, 2016 1:54 pm

Ohh, so that's it! Thanks for enlightening me, Middletoe. :)
User avatar
RaytheBear
Wandering Spectre
Wandering Spectre
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:44 pm

Re: Gabrielle Kniught 3

Postby RaytheBear » Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:09 pm

Aw draclvr and rosaboobie I feel both shy and bad for not being here more often,
thanks for the kind words.

Hey Stella, any news on GK 3? Any luck? Any word back from GOG?
User avatar
Diat60
Poltergeist
Poltergeist
Posts: 2426
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:00 pm

Re: Gabrielle Kniught 3

Postby Diat60 » Tue Feb 09, 2016 10:13 pm

Love your "Canadian" avatar, Ray!
User avatar
RaytheBear
Wandering Spectre
Wandering Spectre
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:44 pm

Re: Gabrielle Kniught 3

Postby RaytheBear » Wed Feb 10, 2016 4:23 pm

Thank you Diat60, like they say: "If you got-em, smoke-em" Um, didn't you have
a different Avatar yesterday or am I going crazy?

Stella: I know you must be busy but I am really curious to see if you made any
progress with GK3.
User avatar
Stella
Poltergeist
Poltergeist
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:08 pm
Zodiac: Cancer

Re: Gabrielle Kniught 3

Postby Stella » Wed Feb 10, 2016 5:51 pm

Hi Ray! Still waiting to hear from GOG.
User avatar
RCB
Wandering Spectre
Wandering Spectre
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:06 am

Re: Gabrielle Kniught 3

Postby RCB » Fri Feb 12, 2016 12:46 pm

Stella wrote:I already have the cd version for Gabe 3.


OK, lets work with that on Windows 10.

First thing you'll need is an installer patch that allows all the discs to be loaded on your hard drive. The one I'm using can be found HERE under the G's. Use this instead of the GK3.exe that comes on the first cd. You will be prompted to load the discs as the game is installed at default location: C:/Sierra/Gabriel Knight 3. At the end you may be asked to set up game configuration. Chose no because it's a good idea to know where that option is located.

Game Configuration:
Go to the Gabriel Knight 3 folder and look for Configure GK3.exe. Highlight the full screen rectangle and select 1024x768. Save.

First Time Running:
This installation didn't create a desktop short cut but the new launch file in the main folder is named Gabriel Knight 3.exe. The date of the file should be something like 9/1/2014. I'd recommend sending this to the desktop for convenience since it is necessary to apply compatibility options. Note that the original GK3.exe (1999) is still present but don't touch it. Game Compatibility Mode Settings: I know it's tempting but DO NOT change to a different (older) operating system, leave it alone. What you do need to do though is check the box for reduced color mode - 16 bit (65536) color.
Apply.
Next step is start the game. After the intro and you get control of the game right click to get the 'in game' option menu. Select Configuration Options - Advanced Options - Graphics Options. Turn off (unselect) Incremental Rendering and set the game resolution to 1024x768. Note that if each time you start the game and get a notice like frame buffer overload you will need to reset the resolution from 640x480 back to 1024x768.
Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day.
Give a man a rod and he will sit on a boat and drink beer all day. - USA Network

Return to “Technical Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests