Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Programs

From how-to's on loading up a saved game to getting your old game to run on XP or reconfiguring your Internet Explorer, we'll do our best to help hook up those who have questions with a guru who can help.
User avatar
Rosaboobie
Dastardly Demon
Dastardly Demon
Posts: 9427
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:55 am
Zodiac: Cancer

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby Rosaboobie » Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:06 pm

Actually I only use Word myself.
Boobie
If people had hearts like dogs, the world would be a better place!
User avatar
draclvr
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Posts: 13993
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:30 am
Zodiac: Virgo

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby draclvr » Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:28 pm

Then - hopefully you won't - but should you need to replace this, you could just get the cheaper Home and Student version.

However, in all my research on this, I've heard of lots of people just dealing with the damned message when they first open it up.
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. When life gives you tomatoes, make Bloody Marys.
User avatar
Rosaboobie
Dastardly Demon
Dastardly Demon
Posts: 9427
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:55 am
Zodiac: Cancer

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby Rosaboobie » Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:36 pm

Huh? Dealing with it in what way, Drac?
Boobie
If people had hearts like dogs, the world would be a better place!
User avatar
middletoe
Settled Spook
Settled Spook
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 2:23 pm

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby middletoe » Thu Feb 11, 2016 1:34 pm

Rosaboobie wrote:Huh? Dealing with it in what way, Drac?

By ignoring the message, clicking past it, and continuing to use Word.
User avatar
Rosaboobie
Dastardly Demon
Dastardly Demon
Posts: 9427
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:55 am
Zodiac: Cancer

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby Rosaboobie » Thu Feb 11, 2016 1:36 pm

Yes, I can do that but I wont get any updates, will I?
Boobie
If people had hearts like dogs, the world would be a better place!
User avatar
draclvr
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Posts: 13993
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:30 am
Zodiac: Virgo

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby draclvr » Thu Feb 11, 2016 2:32 pm

Yes to both of them...
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. When life gives you tomatoes, make Bloody Marys.
User avatar
Rosaboobie
Dastardly Demon
Dastardly Demon
Posts: 9427
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:55 am
Zodiac: Cancer

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby Rosaboobie » Thu Feb 11, 2016 3:43 pm

Well, I dont think that's the answer ha ha :roll:
Boobie
If people had hearts like dogs, the world would be a better place!
User avatar
draclvr
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Posts: 13993
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:30 am
Zodiac: Virgo

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby draclvr » Thu Feb 11, 2016 3:59 pm

But it will work for the time being - who knows, maybe this Bonanza website will contact the seller and make him cough up a proper activation code!
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. When life gives you tomatoes, make Bloody Marys.
User avatar
RaytheBear
Wandering Spectre
Wandering Spectre
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:44 pm

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby RaytheBear » Thu Feb 11, 2016 4:22 pm

Hi Rosaboobie,

Just like you, I only use Word and on just the 1 machine, so I bought
Word 2016 non commercial for $79 Canadian + Taxes (Bloody taxes) = $89.27
and Word 2016 should be good until 2025 so it works out to $10.00 a year, which
is good, and cheaper than buying the Whole Suite.

Some of the reasons I bought Word 2016 are:
1) When I eventually upgrade or buy a new machine with Win 10, I know Word2016
will be compatible
2) My Old Word Office Pro 2003 is no longer supported
3) I tried several Free Ones and although very good for a free product it had a few
glitches that annoyed me and it seemed never corrected properly

So far I have used this App for 2 Months and now that I am used to it, I love it. Another Great Feature about this Word 2016 is that it will Convert PDF documents to Word if
you wish to do so, which is great, it means that you can edit the document to your liking. It also has many other very nice features.

https://www.google.ca/webhp?hl=en#hl=en ... commercial
User avatar
draclvr
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Posts: 13993
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:30 am
Zodiac: Virgo

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby draclvr » Thu Feb 11, 2016 4:53 pm

What a great feature to convert from PDF to Word! So many times I've wished I could do that. I use Excel a lot, so I need the spreadsheet, but that's a great option.

Office Online is also available and you can also use it for free. Just go to this web page and start using. You can save documents either to your One Drive or to your local computer.

https://www.office.com/?WT.mc_id=O16_BingHP
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. When life gives you tomatoes, make Bloody Marys.
User avatar
Rosaboobie
Dastardly Demon
Dastardly Demon
Posts: 9427
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:55 am
Zodiac: Cancer

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby Rosaboobie » Sat Feb 13, 2016 4:24 am

Ray, was your purchase a digital download because I cant find where to buy this on any UK website. I would prefer a disk to a download, I think.

Edit: I did find it here for £70, but I think your copy was cheaper, Ray?

http://www.microsoftstore.com/store/msu ... 8%29%28%29
Boobie
If people had hearts like dogs, the world would be a better place!
User avatar
middletoe
Settled Spook
Settled Spook
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 2:23 pm

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby middletoe » Sat Feb 13, 2016 9:26 am

If you are strapped for cash,
Microsoft offers "Word Viewer" for free.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=4

You can view and print Word documents with it, but can't create any new ones.
If you need to create new documents, you can do it with Wordpad, which should be in
Start menu -> All apps -> Windows Accessories
on Windows 10.
User avatar
draclvr
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Posts: 13993
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:30 am
Zodiac: Virgo

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby draclvr » Sat Feb 13, 2016 9:35 am

And you can use the free Office on-line apps which are great. I linked to them above.

That sounds about right, Rosaboobie. Ray's was almost $90 Canadien
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. When life gives you tomatoes, make Bloody Marys.
User avatar
draclvr
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Monster-Slaying Administrator
Posts: 13993
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:30 am
Zodiac: Virgo

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby draclvr » Sat Feb 13, 2016 9:44 am

And you can use the free Office on-line apps which are great. I linked to them above.

That sounds about right, Rosaboobie. Ray's was almost $90 Canadian. I found Office Home and Student 2016 which includes Word, Excel, Power Point and One Note as a disk from Staples in the UK for £119. I'm sure that stand alone Word 2016 non-commercial is going to only be a download.
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. When life gives you tomatoes, make Bloody Marys.
User avatar
Rosaboobie
Dastardly Demon
Dastardly Demon
Posts: 9427
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:55 am
Zodiac: Cancer

Re: Rogue Software Causing Problems with Word & Default Prog

Postby Rosaboobie » Sat Feb 13, 2016 12:14 pm

Yes, but at least it is a download from the official Microsoft store, right? And I could reinstall if any number of times if necessary?

Well I found out today that my Office 2010 has indeed stopped working. I can view the documents already on my PC, but I cant create a new one and if I try and create one, ALL of the options and tools are greyed out.
Boobie
If people had hearts like dogs, the world would be a better place!

Return to “Technical Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest